The extinction of sharks

Sharks don’t cry – Shark fins and finning

 

For over 450 million years sharks have inhabited this world. But now we are on the way to eliminating the sharks within the next few years. In the large parts of the oceans shark populations have declined in the last 20 years by more than 90 percent (refer the important role of sharks in the ecosystem sea).

This problem is intensified by the slow reproduction rates of sharks, which have a very late sexual maturity. Many types do not reach maturity until 15 years. In addition, many species only have one offspring per year. Many species are unable to replace the vast quantities of dead animals lost for the commercial usage of shark fins making their numbers shrink even more. The list of endangered plant and animal species already contains many endangered shark species. (Source: Red List  of IUCN)

Around 50 million sharks are still being killed each year. Only the fins of a shark are usually used for the popular shark fin soup. Shark fin soup is a status symbol in Asia and it is prestigious to have it served at weddings.

Many sharks are slaughtered with the brutal finning method. All the fins are cut off the shark, and the live but injured shark is then thrown back into the sea. Most sharks can not breathe actively, meaning they must constantly move or stay in currents enabling the water to flow through the gills. Without fins, sharks suffer a slow and agonizing death, suffocating or bleeding to death.

It’s always about profit, sustainability or respect for a living being is not of any interest. The shark fin business is lucrative for fishing. The flesh of the shark up to 15 kg does not yield much compared to its fins. And without a body, so many more fins can be stowed in the cargo hold.

Awareness campaigns, the fear of faked fins and banning shark fin soup at state banquets in China and Hong Kong (since 2013, but finning is still allowed) help to reduce the demand for shark fin. The more people learn about the consequences of eating shark fin soup, the less they want to participate in the trade. Slowly the younger Asian generation is reconsidering and beginning to protect endangered animals.

 

Warning: Painful death of a shark by finning

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Das Aussterben der Haie

Haie können nicht schreien – Haifischflossen und Finning

 

Über 450 Millionen Jahre haben Haie diese Welt bevölkert. Doch nun sind wir auf dem Weg, die Haie innerhalb der nächsten Jahre auszulöschen. In den überwiegenden Teilen der Ozeane sind die Hai-Bestände in den letzten 20 Jahren um mehr als 90 Prozent zurückgegangen (siehe die wichtige Rolle der Haie im Ökosystem Meer).

Dieses Problem wird zusätzlich durch die langsamen Vermehrungsraten der Haie verschärft, die erst sehr spät geschlechtsreif werden, viele Arten erst im Alter von 15 Jahren. Manche Haie bringen pro Jahr nur ein Junges auf die Welt. So schaffen sie es nicht, die Unmengen der insbesondere für den Haifischflossen-Handel getöteten Tiere zu ersetzen und schrumpfen weiter sehr stark. Die Liste der bedrohten Pflanzen- und Tierarten enthält bereits sehr viele vom Aussterben bedrohte Hai-Arten (Quelle: Rote Liste der IUCN).

Trotzdem werden noch immer rund 50 Millionen Haie pro Jahr getötet. Meistens werden nur die Flossen des Hais für die in Asien beliebte Haifischflossen-Suppe verwendet. Haifischflossen-Suppe ist ein Statussymbol in Asien und es gehört zum Prestige, diese an der Hochzeit servieren zu lassen. 

Dafür werden viele Haie mit der qualvollen Finning-Methode abgeschlachtet. Dem lebenden Hai werden alle Flossen abgeschnitten, dann wird der Hai noch lebend zurück ins Meer geworfen. Viele Hai-Arten können nicht aktiv atmen. Sie müssen sich ständig bewegen oder in der Strömung stehen, damit Wasser durch die Kiemen fliessen kann. Ohne Flossen erleiden Haie einen langsamen und qualvollen Tod, sie ersticken oder verbluten.

Es geht wie immer um Profit, Nachhaltigkeit oder Respekt vor einem Lebewesen interessiert dabei nicht. Das Geschäft mit den Haifischflossen ist lukrativ für die Fischerei, denn das Fleisch des Hais von rund 15 kg bringt im Vergleich zu seinen Flossen nicht viel ein. Und ohne Körper können so viel mehr Flossen im Laderaum verstaut werden.

Aufklärungskampagnen, die Angst vor gefälschten Flossen und das Verbot von Haifischflossensuppe bei Staatsbanketts in China und Hong Kong (2013 von der Regierung durchgesetzt, Finning ist weiterhin erlaubt) helfen, die Nachfrage nach Haifischflossensuppe zu senken. Sehr langsam erfolgt ein Umdenken bei der jüngeren asiatischen Generation.

 

Warnung: Qualvoller Tod eines Hais durch Finning 

 

 

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial