Finning

Finning is a cruel act of killing animals and mocks every respect for life:

All the fins are cut off the shark and the live but injured shark is then thrown back into the sea, where it suffers a slow and agonizing death.

Most sharks can not breathe actively, meaning they must constantly move or stay in currents enabling the water to flow through the gills. Without fins the shark will die a slow and agonizing death leading to suffocation, if he does not bleed to death or gets eaten by other marine animals before hand.

How long this death takes and how much a shark suffersis documented in the following short film. Please have a look at this documentation but only if you have nerves of steel!

This cruel treatment of a living beings takes place annually between 73 to 200 million times!

As always it’s about profit. The business of shark fins is lucrative for the fishing industry – in comparison the meat of the shark doesn‘t generate much money. Nobody is interested in sustainability. And if only the fins are transported a much greater volume can be stored.

Fins are used in Asia for shark fin soup. The average price for shark fins is approximately $40 per pound, even though the fins have no taste. In Asia shark fin soup is seen as a status symbol and it is part of the prestige to have them served at a wedding.

In 2011 a major advertising campaign with Sir Richard Branson and the famous basketball star Yao Ming started in Asia. Slowly the younger Asian generation is reconsidering to protect endangered animals. Because of increased public pressure some asian hotels and supermarkets will be relinquishing shark products – taking them out of their product lines starting in  2012 (or they have at least made this committment).

 

 

 

Share

Finning

Finning ist eine grausame Tiertötung und verspottet jeden Respekt vor dem Leben:

Dem lebenden Hai werden alle Flossen abgeschnitten, dann wird der Hai immer noch lebend zurück ins Meer geworfen, wo er einen langsamen und qualvollen Tod erleidet.

Die meisten Haie können nicht aktiv atmen, d.h. sie müssen sich ständig bewegen oder in der Strömung stehen, damit Wasser durch die Kiemen fliesst. Ohne Flossen erleidet der Hai einen langsamen und absolut qualvollen Tod durch Ersticken, sofern er nicht vorher verblutet oder wehrlos von einem anderen Meeresbewohner gefressen wird.

Wie lange dieser Tod dauert und wie sehr der Hai leidet, ist mit dem nachstehenden Kurzfilm dokumentiert. Bitte schau dir diese Dokumentation nur an, wenn du starke Nerven hast!

Diese grausame Behandlung eines Lebewesens erfolgt jährlich über 73 bis zu 200 Millionen Mal!

Wie immer geht es um Profit, das Geschäft mit den Haifischflossen ist für die Fischerei lukrativ, das Fleisch bringt im Vergleich nicht viel ein. Nachhaltigkeit interessiert dabei niemand. Und wenn nur die Flossen transportiert werden, kann man um ein vielfaches mehr im Laderaum verstauen. 

Flossen werden in Asien für Hafischflossensuppe verwendet. Der Durchschnittspreis für Haifischflossen liegt bei ungefähr 40$ pro Pfund, obwohl die Flossen keinen Geschmack besitzen. Haifischflossensuppe ist ein Statussymbol in Asien und es gehört zum Prestige, diese an der Hochzeit servieren zu lassen. 

Im Jahr 2011 ist in Asien eine grosse Werbekampagne mit Sir Richard Branson und dem berühmten Basketballstar Yao Ming angelaufen. Langsam erfolgt bei der jüngeren asiatischen Generation ein Umdenken in Sachen Schutz bedrohter Lebewesen. Vereinzelte Hotels und Supermärkte in Asien nehmen auf Druck der Öffentlichkeit ab dem Jahr 2012 Haifischprodukte aus dem Sortiment (oder haben es auf jeden Fall versprochen).

 

 

 

Share