Myth man-eater

People have an unnatural fear of the shark. It is one of the most feared animals on earth even though there are only about 70 shark accidents worldwide a year killing between 10 and 15 people. Where does this fear come from? 

As a child almost every one of us has seen the movie “Jaws” and other similar Hollywood movies, which portray the shark as a monster. These films are suggesting us the following picture:

  • A shark is lurking in the depths of the ocean and is only in this world to bite into juicy and tender human flesh.
  • If a shark sees a human, it  immediately goes into a feeding frenzy.
  • To get at our human flesh sharks will even eat boats.

With this image that has been created for sharks a lot of money can be earned. Therefore it isn’t surprising to see an extra large open mouth of a white shark on newspapers after there has been a shark accident. This will increase circulation and sales!

Let’s read the example of a shark accident from South Africa which took place in 2011. See what the media reported and what the real facts are:

Next shark horror in South Africa: A white shark tore off the leg of a bather. Although the beach in Cape Town was closed because of a shark alert, the British businessman Michael Cohen still went into the water. As it has turned out this was a fatal decision. The killershark didn’t waste any time, biting off the victim’s right lower leg.  The left leg was severely injured. After the attack a seal swam around the 42 year old, probably saving  his life, distracting the shark.
Source: http://www.oe24.at/welt/Hai-Attacke-in-Suedafrika-Mann-verliert-Bein/41848853

When reading the article we notice the words “shark-horror” and “killer shark”. The image of the beast that has been etched into our minds since childhood is thus confirmed. But is that really true, are these statements correct, including the fact that the seal in the water saved his life?

The facts of “shark-horror” and “killer shark”
Although the shark is one of the top predators in the oceans, shark accidents happen very rarely. Every year, billions of people enter the seas, but worldwide there only between 10 and 15 people that get killed as a result of shark accidents (this trend is slightly increasing as vacation by the sea gets more affordable for people,thus increasing the number of tourists).
As a comparison 150 people die every year due to falling coconuts.

Facts of the life-saving seals in the water
In South Africa seals are the main source of food of the white shark. If in fact there was a seal in the water, the seal did not save Michael Cohen’s life, but was mistaken for food.

Shark accidents with people are usually combined with a set of several unfortunate circumstances:

  • Poor and limited visibility irritating the sharks
    (e the sand being churned up by high waves)
  • Competition and supposed prey, hunting requires quick action
    (tthe shark sees its prey as well as another shark it must compete against)
  • Self-inflicted injuries by man
    (eg. feeding of sharks)
  • Stress bite
    (shark is under pressure or feels threathened, lack of escape routes)

When hunting for prey the shark uses energy. The prey has to over compensate this needed power. People however are almost entirely made of bones and a small amount of fat. Therefore we aren’t on the natural menu of the shark. If there is a shark accident involving a mix up, the shark will usually let go of the person after it‘s first bite. Unfortunately, such a bite can  cause severe and irreparable injury, in rare cases, the death of a person.

Many admirable shark protectors have documented the fact that sharks are not man-eaters. Sharks are neither cuddly animals nor are they cannibals. They are simply wonderful hunters and predators of the seas, who we should meet with the proper respect!

Share

Mythos Menschenfresser

Menschen haben eine unnatürliche Angst vor dem Hai. Er gehört zu den gefürchtesten Tieren dieser Erde, obwohl weltweit jährlich lediglich zwischen 10 bis 15 Menschen bei rund 70 Haiunfällen getötet werden. Woher kommt diese Angst?

Als Kind hat fast jeder von uns einmal den Film „Der weisse Hai” und ähnliche Hollywoodstreifen gesehen, welche den Hai als Monster darstellen. Diese Filme suggerieren uns folgendes Bild:

  • Ein Hai lauert in der Tiefe des Ozeanes und ist nur auf dieser Welt, um in feines und saftiges Menschenfleisch zu beissen.
  • Ein Hai fällt beim Anblick eines Menschens sofort in einen Fressrausch.
  • Um an unser Menschenfleisch zu gelangen, frisst ein Hai sogar Boote.

Mit diesem Denken kann sehr viel Geld verdient werden. Kein Wunder handelt es sich bei jedem Hai-Unfall sofort um eine Hai-Attacke mit einer extra grossen Aufnahme eines zubeissenden weissen Hais auf dem Titelblatt. Das erhöht die Auflage und gibt Umsatz!

Lesen wir doch einmal das Beispiel des Hai-Unfalls im Jahr 2011 in Südafrika, wie er von den Medien dargestellt wird und was die Fakten sind:

Nächster Hai-Horror in Südafrika: Ein weißer Hai hat einem Badegast ein Bein abgerissen. Obwohl der Strand in Kapstadt wegen Hai-Alarms gesperrt war, ist der britische Geschäftsmann Michael Cohen ins Wasser gegangen. Fatal, wie sich herausstellen sollte. Der Killer-Hai machte kurzen Prozess und biss dem Opfer das rechte Bein am Unterschenkel ab. Das linke Bein wurde schwer verletzt. Nach der Attacke solle eine Robbe um den 42-Jährigen geschwommen sein, möglicherweise hat sie ihm das Leben gerettet, da der Hai durch sie abgelenkt wurde.
Quelle: http://www.oe24.at/welt/Hai-Attacke-in-Suedafrika-Mann-verliert-Bein/41848853

Beim Lesen des Artikels nehmen wir „Hai-Horror” und „Killer-Hai” auf. Unser eingebranntes Bild der Bestie aus unseren Kindertagen wird damit bestätigt. Aber ist das tatsächlich so, stimmen diese Aussagen und auch diejenige der Robbe im Wasser, die ihm das Leben gerettet haben soll? 

Fakt zu “Hai-Horror” und “Killer-Hai”
Obwohl der Hai zu den Top-Raubtieren der Ozeane gehört, passieren sehr selten Hai-Unfälle. Jährlich besuchen Milliarden von Menschen die Meere, durch Hai-Unfälle getötet werden weltweit aber lediglich zwischen 10 bis 15 Menschen (Tendenz leicht steigend, infolge erschwinglicher Ferien am Meer steigt aber auch die Zahl der Touristen). Im Vergleich dazu sterben durch herabfallende Kokosnüsse 150 Menschen jedes Jahr.

Fakt zu lebensrettender Robbe im Wasser
Robben sind die Hauptnahrung des weissen Hais in Südafrika. Sofern tatsächlich eine Robbe im Wasser war, hat diese Michael Cohen nicht das Leben gerettet, sondern er wurde mit der Hauptnahrung verwechselt.

Hai-Unfälle mit Menschen sind meist eine Verkettung von vielen unglücklichen Umständen:

  • Schlechte und eingeschränkte Sicht, dadurch Irritation der Sinne des Hais
    (bspw. aufgewühlter Sand durch hohen Wellengang)
  • Konkurrenz und vermeintliche Beute, rasche Jagd ist erforderlich
    (der Hai sieht seine Beute und gleichzeitig einen konkurrenzierenden Hai)
  • Selbst herbeigeführte Unfälle durch den Menschen
    (bspw. Anfütterung des Haies)
  • Stressbiss
    (Hai wird bedrängt, fehlender Fluchtweg)

Für seine Jagd auf Beute setzt der Hai Energie ein. Die Beute muss diese eingesetzte Energie überkompensieren. Menschen bestehen aber fast nur aus Knochen und aus wenig Fett, daher stehen wir nicht auf dem natürlichen Speiseplan des Hais. Kommt es zu einem Haiunfall mit einer Verwechslung, lässt der Hai in der Regel nach einem Probebiss vom Menschen ab. Leider führt aber ein Probebiss manchmal zu schweren und irreparablen Verletzungen, in seltenen Fällen zum Tod eines Menschens.

Viele bewundernswerte Hai-Schützer haben bereits dokumentiert, dass Haie keine Menschenfresser sind. Haie sind keine Kuscheltiere, aber sie sind auch keine Menschenfresser. Sie sind einfach die wunderschönen Jäger und Raubtiere der Meere, denen wir mit dem notwendigen Respekt begegnen sollten!  

 

 

Share