Why sharks are important

We need sharks, because without sharks the sea dies and without the sea we all die.

 

The sea is the life support system of our earth, we need a healthy sea:

  • The sea supplies more than half of all oxygen in the atmosphere. Phytoplankton (plant plankton) is the main producer. These innumerable microorganisms have the ability to do photosynthesis. During photosynthesis, phytoplankton extracts carbon dioxide from the seawater and releases oxygen. For this purpose, they split mineral salts contained in the sea and the carbon in sunlight into organic matter and oxygen. (Source: Federal Ministry of Education and Research – 2010)
  • The sea also regulates the climate and is a pump that allows us fresh water. Together with the sun, the ocean is the driving force of the global cycle, transporting water from land to sea, into the atmosphere and back into the countryside. In addition, our demand for water is constantly increasing, so desalinated seawater is valuable to humans and animals.
  • The sea provides humans and animals a source of vital food proteins. Billions of people are therefore dependent on the sea. These include restaurants, sushi bars and fish markets, but also people whose survival depends directly on whether they catch fish.

 

The important role of sharks

The sea is a huge ecosystem of different oceans connected by ocean currents. Sharks play an important role in this ecosystem. They are at the top of the food pyramid and regulate the populations of fish and other marine animals. The natural balance of stocks is important so that the fragile ecosystem in the sea does not tip over.

A healthy coral reef needs sharks, so that smaller predators do not multiply too much. They eat too many other herbivorous reef inhabitants like parrot fish, which in turn means that young corals are no longer protected from being overgrown by algae. Even mussels and microorganisms that cleanse the sea and keep the water quality in balance, rely on sharks to keep their predators in check.

Scientific studies prove the effects of a diminished shark population:

  • In areas with over-fished sharks there is less biodiversity, less fish, and unhealthy seagrass meadows, compared to similar regions where there is a sufficient shark population. 
    (Source: Stevenson C. – Stanford University – 2006)
  • In North Carolina, over-fishing of the sharks led to the complete collapse of the mussel fishery. The cownose rays multiplied uncontrollably without enemies, and extinguished the mussel stocks.
    (Source: Ransom A. Myers – Dalhousie University – 2007)

 

What if there were no sharks (refer the extinction of sharks)?

 

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Warum Haie wichtig sind

Wir brauchen Haie, denn ohne Haie stirbt das Meer und ohne Meer sterben wir alle.

 

Das Meer ist das Lebenserhaltungssystem unserer Erde, wir brauchen ein gesundes Meer:

  • Es liefert mehr als die Hälfte allen Sauerstoffs in der Atmosphäre. Phytoplankton (pflanzliches Plankton) ist dabei der Hauptproduzent. Diese unzähligen Kleinstlebewesen haben die Fähigkeit, Photosynthese zu betreiben. Während der Photosynthese entnimmt Phytoplankton dem Meerwasser Kohlendioxid und gibt Sauerstoff frei. Hierzu spalten sie im Meer enthaltene Mineralsalze und den Kohlenstoff bei Sonnenlicht auf in organische Stoffe und Sauerstoff.
    (Quelle: Bundesministerium Bildung&Forschung – 2010)
  • Das Meer reguliert aber auch das Klima und ist eine Pumpe, die uns frisches Wasser ermöglicht. Gemeinsam mit der Sonne ist das Meer die treibende Kraft des globalen Kreislaufs, der das Wasser vom Land über das Meer in die Atmosphäre und wieder zurück aufs Land transportiert. Zudem steigt unser Trinkwasserbedarf kontinuierlich an, daher wird auch entsalztes Meerwasser für Mensch und Tier immer wie wertvoller. 
  • Als Nahrungsquelle liefert das Meer Menschen und Tieren lebensnotwendige Proteine. Milliarden Menschen sind daher vom Meer abhängig. Dazu zählen Restaurants, Sushi Bars und Fischmärkte, aber auch Menschen, deren Überleben direkt davon abhängt, ob sie Fische fangen. 

 

Die wichtige Rolle der Haie

Das Meer ist ein riesiges Ökosystem aus verschiedenen Ozeanen, die durch Meeresströmungen verbunden sind. In diesem Ökosystem haben Haie eine wichtige Rolle. Diese Raubtiere stehen an der Spitze der Nahrungspyramide und regulieren die Populationen von Fischen und anderen Meerestieren. Das natürliche Gleichgewicht der Bestände ist wichtig, damit das empfindliche Ökosystem im Meer nicht kippt. 

Ein gesundes Korallenriff benötigt Haie, damit sich kleinere Raubfische nicht zu stark vermehren. Diese fressen sonst zu viele andere pflanzenfressende Riffbewohner wie Papageienfische, was wiederum dazu führt, dass junge Korallen nicht mehr davor geschützt sind, von Algen überwuchert zu werden. Auch Muscheln und Kleinstlebewesen, welche das Meer reinigen und die Wasserqualität im Gleichgewicht halten, sind darauf angewiesen, dass Haie ihre Fressfeinde in Schach halten.

Wissenschaftliche Studien belegen die Auswirkungen von fehlenden Haien:

  • In Gebieten mit überfischten Haien gibt es eine geringere Artenvielfalt, weniger Fische und weniger gesunde Seegraswiesen im Vergleich zu ähnlichen Regionen, in denen eine ausreichende Haipopulation vorhanden ist.
    (Quelle: Stevenson C. – Stanford University – 2006)
  • In North Carolina führte die Überfischung der Haie zum vollständigen Zusammenbruch der traditionellen Muschel-Fischerei. Die Kuhnasenrochen vermehrten sich ohne Feinde unkontrolliert und löschten die Muschelbestände aus.  
    (Quelle: Ransom A. Myers – Dalhousie University – 2007)

 

Was wäre, wenn es keine Haie gäbe (siehe das Aussterben von Haien)?

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial